FM19 League Info: Argentina Primera B Nacional

Primera B Nacional (usually called simply Nacional B, in English National B Division) is the second division of the Argentine football league system, made up of 25 teams in the 2018–19 season.

It is played by teams from all over the country. Clubs from Buenos Aires surroundings, as well as some from Santa Fe Province, are promoted from or relegated to the Primera B Metropolitana (“Metropolitan B Division”) while for teams from the other provinces the Torneo Federal A (“Federal A Tournament”) is the next level down. In the league system of Argentine football, Nacional B is the second-highest league, and from it the three best teams are automatically promoted to Primera División.

Primera B Nacional games are often transmitted to Argentina and abroad on television by TyC Sports.


It was created in 1985 to integrate unaffiliated clubs into the Argentine football structure, which until then had only participated in Nacional championships of Argentina’s First Division tournament. It brought together teams from the old Primera B (until then, the second division) and regional leagues from several Argentine provinces.

After the 1985–86 season, the Primera B Nacional became the second hierarchical league in Argentina’s professional football, after the Primera División, and it is above the Torneo Federal A and the Primera B Metropolitana, the last one started to act as a third division for the teams directly affiliated to AFA.


For the 2016–17 season, the twenty-three participating teams played each other twice for a total of forty-six matches. Teams received three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points.

The champion and runner-up teams automatically promoted to Primera División. Six teams were relegated at the end of the season.

Torneo Federal A

The Torneo Federal A (in English “Federal A Tournament”) was founded in 2014 as a result of a change in the structure of the Argentine football league system, is one of the two leagues that form the regionalised third level of the Argentine football league system. Clubs in the Torneo Federal have indirect membership in AFA, while clubs in the Primera B Metropolitana (the other third division) have direct membership in AFA. All teams with indirect membership are from outside the city of Buenos Aires and its metropolitan area (Greater Buenos Aires), while most of the direct members are from the aforementioned area.

Primera B Metropolitana

Primera B Metropolitana is one of two professional leagues that form the third level of the Argentine football league system. The division is made up of 19 clubs mainly from the city of Buenos Aires and its metropolitan area, Greater Buenos Aires. Originally created as the second division, it became the third level after a restructuring of the system in 1985 that ended with the creation of Primera B Nacional, set as the second division since then. The other league at level three is the Torneo Federal A, where teams from regional leagues take part.


Number of Teams: 25

Dates: 25/08/2018 – 06/04/2019

Points for Win: 3

Points for Draw: 1

Number of Matches: 24 (Teams play each other once).

Match Rules: No player restrictions within current squad selection. 7 subs named, maximum 3 used.

Trialist Rules: No trialists allowed to play in matches.

Squad Registration: Maximum of 4 foreign players. Maximum squad size of 40 players. Players can be registered between Saturday 1st July 2017 and Friday 14th September 2018. Players can be registered between Saturday 22nd December 2018 and Friday 1st February 2019. Registered players who pick up a long-term injury (at least 180 days out) can be replaced in the squad up until the 6th match.

League Sorting Rules: Goal Difference then Goals Scored then a Championship playoff match is played if teams finish joint top with same points.

Promotion: Top team wins promotion to Superliga.

Qualification: Teams placed 2nd-9th quality for Promotion Playoff.

Average Points: The worst Torneo Argentino A team from the average points table is relegated to Primera B Metro/Torneo Argentino A. The worse Primera B Metro team from the average points table is relegated to Primera B Metro/Torneo Argentino A.

Disciplinary Rules : 1 match ban for every 5 yellow cards. 1 match ban for every red card. The following bans may be added for the specified offences: One Match: Striking another player (minor). Two Matches: Violent Conduct. Striking another player. Five Matches: Striking another player (extreme). Twelve Matches: Striking a match official.

Transfer Window: Saturday 1st July 2017 to Friday 14th September 2018. Saturday 22nd December 2018 to Friday 1st February 2019 (maximum of 2 players allowed).

Wage Rules: £100 per week minimum wage for full-time players 16 years old and up.


AFA Official

SuperLiga Argentina

General Regulations (PDF)

CentreMid Socials:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply